View this profile on Instagram

Impact Iran (@impactiran) • Instagram photos and videos

Human Rights Treaty Bodies

The Human Rights Treaty Bodies are committees of independent experts that monitor the implementation of core international human rights treaties. There are ten human rights treaty bodies composed of independent experts of recognized competence in human rights, who are nominated and elected for fixed renewable terms of four years by State parties. Each State must take steps to ensure that everyone in the State can enjoy the rights set out in the treaty.

The treaty bodies monitor the following committees:

  • Human Rights Committee
  • Committee on Economic
  • Social and Cultural Rights
  • Committee on the Elimination of Racial Discrimination
  • Committee on the Elimination of Discrimination against Women
  • Committee against Torture
  • Committee on the Rights of the Child
  • Committee on Migrant Workers
  • Committee on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities
  • Committee on Enforced Disappearances
  • Subcommittee on the Prevention of Torture and Other Cruel, Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment